Chicken Parm Casserole

As it gets closer to fall, I am excited for all the comfort food that will come with it! Here is one of my favorites. This one is for those who like chicken parmesan but are annoyed with how long it takes. Here is a quick, healthy twist on your favorite.

My husband and I love having wine and cheese nights. When we do, I like to shop in the gourmet cheese section and get a variety of gourmet cheeses to try. I luckily had a block of truffle cheese left over and thought I would use it in this dish. I didn’t have enough of the yummy cheese to cover the dish, so I added shredded mozzarella that I had on hand.

 Chicken Parm Casserole

Chicken Parm Casserole

Ingredients

-Chicken, cut into strips or bite size (I buy chicken pre-cooked to save time)
-2 cups tomato sauce
-2 cups shredded mozzarella (or any kind of grated cheese)
-Pasta (optional)
-hot sauce (optional)
I used a little bit of my favorite Sambal chile paste in the sauce to add a little spice. You can also use red pepper flakes if you prefer a less spicy dish.

Directions

If you are including pasta in your dish, you’ll want to start by boiling water and cook the pasta el dente.

If you are not, you will want to start the layering process:
-Spray a casserole dish with oil, or butter
-Add the cooked chicken to the bottom of the dish (pasta would go before the chicken if you are adding pasta)
-On top of the chicken, spread an even layer of tomato sauce (and hot sauce if you prefer)
-On top of the sauce, layer your shredded cheese
-Drizzle the cheese with olive oil (I used garlic infused olive oil to give it a little more flavor) to create a cheesy crust. And feel free to add more cheese if you like 🙂

Put the casserole dish in the oven at 350 degrees until the cheese melts, approximately 10 minutes.

© 2014 Life Of a Russians Wife

Leave a Reply

