Being Shop Conscious

Today’s post isn’t a recipe but rather a tip from yours truly. I was watching “The Chew” today (as I do most days), and they were talking about the fact that most people waste money by wasting food. Me, being as organized as I am, do not like to waste food. In fact I would like to share a few tips with you on how I shop smart so I do not throw away money and essentially save money by doing so.

Big food

Food waste

1. Do not impulse buy. Or for me, do not go shopping with your husband. 
Shopping with my husband ends up in a lot of impulse buys. Impulse buys can be considered as items on sale or items that just look tasty the moment you see them. I do most of the cooking at our house so I know what we have, what we need, and what we won’t eat. I like to go into the grocery store, and leave just with what I know I need.

2. Stick to your grocery list. 
Shopping for some individuals can be stressful and most dread the grocery store. My advice is to plan out your meals for the week and put together a list of ingredients you need at the store. Therefore when you go to the grocery store you simply go in, buy the things on your list, and leave.

3. Prepare meals according to what you have.
When preparing meals, its best to see what you already have stocked in your fridge or pantry and base your meals off of that. Also do not choose recipes with random, weird ingredients you may never use again. If you end up buying those random ingredients just for a pinch of it you will end up throwing it away before it can all get used. You want recipes that involve ingredients you are familiar with and know that can be used in future recipes. However, if you are going to buy those random ingredients because that recipe just looks too good to pass up, go to a grocery store where you can buy just as much as you need of it.

4. Be bulk-shop smart.
Shopping in bulk definitely saves you money, but if you do not end up using the things you buy in bulk you could technically end up “throwing money away.” Shop for things you know you eat often enough to use, or shop for things that will expire in a long enough period of time that you will be able to use it before it goes bad. My bulk purchases usually consist of toilette paper, paper towels, almond milk, and coconut water. I drink coconut water every day and they have a long shelf life so none of it is ever wasted. The same goes with almond milk. Also both the almond milk and coconut water do not need to be refrigerated until opened so I can leave room in my fridge for the things that actually need it.

Tips for saving your produce
Produce is usually the first to turn vile, so here are a couple tips to use your produce before it goes bad:

1. Use unused vegetables to make a stock or soup. You can also used vegetables to make a stir fry, or a rice or quinoa dish with roasted veggies. (I am conspiring a recipe to come soon!)

2. Use unused fruit to make smoothies, or juices. Smoothies are a healthy, great way for someone on-the-go. You can also use the pulp from the juicer and bake it for a dried fruit snack.

Leave a Reply

